Posted by: thedirtybaker | November 4, 2013

Onça’s Chile Brownies!

I thought I’d posted this recipe a while ago, but I guess not. This might not be kid-friendly, if your kids don’t like spices. One guy at a bbq last spring told me that they were very good, but he thought he might be developing an allergy to chocolate, because his tongue was burning a little. Once I stopped laughing, I told him that there was chile in it.

And because some people assume that I’m the genius who figured this out, I have to give credit where it’s due.  I got this recipe from Onça (Brian Adams-Thiess).

Ingredients

4 oz baking chocolate

1 1/3 cup butter

4 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 cups sugar

1 cup flour

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

2 tsp cinnamon (to taste)

1/4 tsp cayenne (to taste – maybe start with less) I’ve been using almost 1/2 tsp instead.

1/8 cup ancho red chile (NOT chili powder)

Directions

Melt the chocolate and butter together in a double boiler and set aside to cool. Beat the

eggs until they are light yellow and then add the rest of the dry ingredients. When the butter chocolate mixture is lukewarm add it to the egg mixture, mix well.

Put brownie mix into a buttered 9×13 pan (I like to break up a bar of dark chocolate and sprinkle it over the top before baking) and bake at 350 for 30 mins or until a knife or toothpick comes out clean when inserted in the center of the pan.

Leave a Reply

Categories

