Posted by: thedirtybaker | November 5, 2012

Nutella to the rescue!

Blogging has taken a far back seat to work, and somewhat to play, but I’ve still been doing some baking. Some of it has been old standby recipes: Chocolate peanut butter marble bars, banana oatmeal bars, oatmeal banana bread, chile brownies, and toll house cookies.  Some have been new: banana oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, gluten-free almond oatmeal chocolate chip cookies (not to my taste, but my gluten-free friend liked them), chocolate red wine cake, and probably some others.

The time-consuming part of writing this baking blog (without pictures) is usually typing in a recipe, so this is a concept entry – not a full recipe.  And now for the confession:

I don’t like chocolate chips..

Blasphemy?  Sorry.  The first time I went to a movie with a friend (no adult/ older sister) I was about 8 years old, and I ate two boxes of sno-caps during the movie.  I lost my taste for them afterwards.  I only like them in cookies now (including granola bars), or sometimes in trail mix.  But not in ice cream, cake, plain, etc.  It’s a texture issue, mostly, because I do love chocolate, but not chocolate chips.

When people want to add chocolate to recipes like banana bread or pumpkin bread, they usually go for chocolate chips.  Blech!! The texture is all wrong, in my opinion, but the idea of adding chocolate to banana or pumpkin – that’s so right!  The solution?  Nutella.

So, next time you want to add chocolate to a cake, consider this option: put dollops of nutella on or in the batter and run a knife through and around several times to marble it.  You’ll have a better texture, better distribution, and better taste than with chocolate chips, and it looks good, too!

Leave a Reply

Categories

