Posted by: thedirtybaker | May 20, 2012

Ice Cream? It’s a Sure-bet.

Welcome to summer weather, friends, a.k.a. Ice Cream/ Sherbet weather.  Here in Tucson, it’s supposed to be 101° Fahrenheit today, and 106 or 107 tomorrow.  It’s time for a dirty baker to make something cold – thank goodness (or thank my brother and sister-in-law) for my ice cream maker!  I realized, when I started using it, that making good ice cream is more expensive than buying Ben & Jerry’s, and put it away for quite a while.  If it’s too expensive, not better than what I can buy cheaper, and not healthy, I have trouble justifying the ice cream. I used it a couple of times to make Chocolate Grand Marnier sorbet or vanilla ice cream for special occasions.  Then I saw this recipe in Cooking Light from June, 2006:

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/buttermilk-sorbet-with-strawberries-10000001197185/

And this a bit later, when I needed something to do with blueberries.  (I have almost no self-restraint when it comes to blueberries).

http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/blueberry-sherbet-10000001023821/

Recently, I’ve been mixing up these recipes with whatever fruit I want to use up.  Strawberries were good, though they were milder than the blueberries, so I had to use more.  Almond meal, almond slices, and amaretto worked well.

I also tend to add alcohol to all the frozen treats I make.  I use amaretto with buttermilk, blueberry, and strawberry.  Sometimes I switch in grand marnier if it sounds better. I’ve also used bourbon in banana-peanut butter  ice cream, and rum in today’s version, with a pineapple, a mango, a bunch of toasted, unsweetened coconut (I’d skip this if I made it again) and tasted almonds.  It’s healthier than ice cream, and it’s delicious – if you have an ice cream maker, I highly recommend making this! And if not, consider getting one!

Leave a Reply

Categories

