Posted by: thedirtybaker | January 9, 2012

Pear Cranberry Crisp

There are several great things about fall and early winter: pretty leaves, crisp mornings, wearing sweaters again, holidays, and fall/ winter produce.  We don’t have deciduous trees in Tucson, so we miss out on autumn leaves.  And, for that matter, fall is often more of a softening of summer than its own season.  But thanks to higher elevations and modern transportation, we do get wonderful apples, pears, and cranberries, and the climate in this region is good for winter citrus; many people here have grapefruit, tangelo, and lemon trees that produce beyond what the owners can eat.  YUM!!!

We had cakes and pastries instead of pie at Thanksgiving, so I’d been thinking about pies, crisps, and crumbles.  I also bought some whipped cream recently and was looking for the proper platform for it.  When I bought a big bag of pears, I decided to make a pear crisp, and noticed that pears were often paired with cranberries (already in the freezer).  So I made (and am still enjoying!) this Pear-Cranberry Crisp from Bon Appetit (January, 1992).

Pear and Cranberry Crisp from Bon Appetite (1/1992)

I had to make a few changes (of course).  I didn’t have quite enough pears, so I added several apples – 3 small granny smiths and 2 cameos, I think.  I made half again the amount of topping, and added some toasted sliced almonds to make up for not having enough oatmeal.  I added much more cinnamon and nutmeg than it called for (of course), and probably 1/2 tsp. ginger as well.  I baked it in a 9″x13″ pan, since the reviewers said that it was too big for the 8″ square pan that the recipe called for.

It’s delicious with whipped cream, but that’s probably obvious.  It’s almost as good on its own, so add this to the highly recommended list!

Leave a Reply

Categories

