Posted by: thedirtybaker | January 8, 2012

Marbelous!

You remember the 80’s Reese’s commercials?  One person is eating a chocolate bar, one person is eating peanut butter, and they are startled or collide or something.  The chocolate falls into a peanut butter jar, and the accusations begin: “You put your peanut butter on my chocolate!”  “You put your chocolate on my peanut butter.”  Here’s an example:

They’re two great tastes that taste great together!

So, on to the recent baking project: I had a recipe for “Carrara Brownies,” named after the marble from Carrara, Italy.  I think I got it from a borrowed cookbook: 365 Easy Cookies and Brownies (something like that), but I recently found it online without any such citation. (The academic in me isn’t happy about that. Cite your sources!!!)

Carrara Brownies Recipe

As written, this was good, simple, and quick – it took under an hour, including the baking.  I started making double-batches.  At some point, I decided to use half chocolate chips, half peanut butter chips.  The salty-sweet peanut butter chips made it even better!  Again, they’re two great tastes that taste great together! And blondie batter only improves matters.

I usually call these Chocolate Peanut Butter Marble Bars, because most people (myself included) don’t know much about the varieties of marble from different locations.  But chocolate and peanut butter – we all know that means “Yum!”

Leave a Reply

Categories

