Posted by: thedirtybaker | December 26, 2011

Finally Fry-Day!

My cousin, who has decided that she is “Chef Caliente” if  her daughter is “The Fancy Baker,” is more

inclined to cook than to bake.  A lot of what she makes sounds really good, but she lives too far away for me to show up for dinner (or for TFB’s baked goods!).  She makes several kinds of latkes for her Hanukkah party, and the sweet potato cayenne latkes sounded AMAZING!!

Since I live alone, I only make one batch of latkes a year for myself – this was it.  I took my recipe for Sweet Potato Latkes, and just added about 3/4 tsp. cayenne to them.

Here’s the recipe, though I used less oil (thank you, seasoned cast iron skillet!), and added an extra green onion:

Sweet Potato Latkes

They fell apart (though they tasted good). I added another egg and another 1/4 c. flour, and they stayed together.  I was told the next day that it works better to use a 2:1 sweet potato: potato ratio, so I should have switched a couple of white potatoes in for a couple of sweets.  I’ll try that next time, which will probably be next year, since I’ve still got leftovers of this batch in my fridge.  But there are still two more nights of Hanukkah, so you can try it now, too!!

By the way, like regular latkes, these good with sour cream or with applesauce, but I preferred them with Trader Joe’s Spiced Apples on top.  YUM!

Leave a Reply

Categories

