Posted by: thedirtybaker | December 23, 2011

Sweet Potato + Peanut + Slow Cooker = Deeelish and Convenient

Sweet Potato Stew (pic from http://www.myrecipes.com)

I made this African-inspired sweet potato peanut stew (I don’t know where in Africa) a couple of years ago.  I found it on myrecipes.com; it’s originally from a publication called All You.  It was good, and I made it as written (more or less) – vegetarian.  I saw from some of the reviews that it was good with meat in it as well, and I wanted to make stew with meat.  I wasn’t sure whether I wanted chicken or beef, so I asked my facebook friends.  They were split: half said beef, half said chicken, and one gave the very helpful answer of pork or lamb.

I decided to try using beef, and it was even better than the vegetarian version was!  (Though if you do decide to keep it vegetarian, I’d recommend adding a can of red beans, rinsed, near the end of the cooking time.)  I didn’t remember to add parsley every time, but I found that it was even better when I added some greens into the pot to wilt when I reheated it.  And hot sauce – it definitely was better with tabasco or jalapeño hot sauce at the end.  If you like garnishing, some chopped peanuts would be good.

It’s a slow cooker recipe, but if you use beef, you’ll want to cube it and brown it on the stove first.  You might also add a little more peanut butter to make up for the increased volume due to the meat.  The picture shows it with rice, but I didn’t bother.  I think it freezes well.  I hope so, at least since I have another 4 servings of it in the freezer at the moment.

Have at it!

Sweet Potato Peanut Stew

Leave a Reply

Categories

