Posted by: thedirtybaker | December 22, 2011

Cookies as Presents, Part 1: Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

As I mentioned in the previous post, I have fantastic teacher’s aides on Sunday mornings.  Two high school students work with me full-time, and a third joins when possible.  I’ve scared or sent away aides who weren’t helpful, so the ones I get now are fantastic!

At Hanukkah and the end of the year, some of the parents give me gifts, but no one thinks to give gifts to the assistants.  So I make a point of giving them a package of homemade cookies.  I put in a mixture of cookies – this year, it included 4 kinds: chewy chocolate gingerbread, shortbread, apricot oatmeal squares, and chile brownies.  A 17-year-old girl informed me that I will adopt her and teach her my baking ways on the basis of these cookies.

I’ve made the apricot oatmeal squares before, and I make the chile brownies several times a year, typically at someone’s request.  I’m happy to post those recipes if people want them, but this is focused on one of my new recipes.  (I’m nice to my aides, but I did use them as guinea pigs for my new cookie recipes.)

This one I got from my 12-year-old cousin, The Fancy Baker, who routinely makes fancier desserts than I can be bothered with (and pays attention to presentation)!  It’s a Martha Stewart recipe – I’m not normally a fan of Martha Stewart, because her demeanor annoys me, and her focus on decoration, presentation etc., is more work than I”m willing to go to.   Her baking recipes often sound good, though, and this is no exception.

This one also sounded easy!  I planned to add crystallized ginger along with the fresh ginger and ground dried ginger, but it was gingery enough without it.  I’m pretty sure that I used more chocolate than it calls for, and I recommend that you do, too!

Anyway, here it is:

Chewy Chocolate Gingerbread Cookies

They’re especially good with hot drinks.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Categories

