Posted by: thedirtybaker | July 19, 2011

Changes in Arizona Laws!

The Cinnamon Girl Bakery Logoa

A new cottage food law, AZ HB2103, section 4 (g) will become effective as of tomorrow, allowing sales of foods prepared in non-commercial kitchens.  Specifically, cooks/ bakers can sell a homemade product if it is:

“Not potentially hazardous and prepared in a kitchen of a private home for commercial purposes if it is packaged with a label that clearly states the address of the maker, includes contact information, lists the contents and discloses that the product was prepared without government inspection.”

Lawyer-ish friends, feel free to clarify if I’m misunderstanding.

I guess I’ll have to stop telling people that it’s not legal for me to sell homemade baked goods, as my kitchen wouldn’t pass commercial kitchen health codes.  What’s my new excuse going to be?  That I don’t know how to make and print proper labels?

 

 

 

Responses

  1. OK, although I am a lawyer I will state right off the bat that I haven’t had a chance to read the law. But I will definitely make you some labels if it enables me to buy your chocolate chili brownies!

    • I could probably do that. I would also need to figure out what to charge.


Leave a Reply

Categories

